Want to Write a Book?

bg-wanttowrite_edited-1

Want to write a book? Be creative. Start writing now. Let nothing stop you. 

It is so easy to second guess yourself when you start THINKING about writing a book. The difference between you and published authors? They sat down and stopped thinking about getting the process of writing a book just right and instead just started writing the ideas out of their head.

Writing a book takes a lot of time and energy. Yes, it is true that I once wrote a book (Cybergrrl: A Woman’s Guide to the World Wide Web) in about three weekends, writing over 10,000 words on just Saturdays and Sundays.

How did I do it? At that time, I was single so I didn’t have family and household responsibilities. If I didn’t do the dishes, nobody was there to see. If I wanted to stay up until 3am writing, nobody cared. I must admit that after 10 years of marriage, I haven’t fully navigated being a book author and having a family. It is hard not to feel the tension when I’m hunkered down over my computer or behind a closed door or away from the house to work on my next book. Book writing by necessity is an isolating activity. 

I also hired a book assistant. Rather than getting bogged down in administrative tasks like emailing people and companies for permissions to use their online content, she took care of that. She transcribed my handwritten notes. She helped me keep track of the small details so I could focus entirely on getting the information out of my brain and into Word documents. 

There is no “secret sauce” to writing a book other than getting to it and writing, writing, writing. Each author can tell you their own unique steps toward book writing and how they navigated around their life to make room for a book. You need to find your own way and stick with it.

How are you making room for a book in your life?

About Aliza

I'm a human being, wife, mother, author, and speaker. Online since 1987. Web pioneer (founded Cybergrrl/Webgrrls in 1995). #bookgirl #travelgirl #worklifetechzen
This entry was posted in Craft of Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

